Nigeria names 23-man team for 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers

Super Eagles

Elderson Echiejile and Chinedu Obasi have been called up to the 23-man roster of the Nigerian men’s national team for next month’s 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Congo and South Africa.

But Victor Moses has been excused from the squad after he just joined Stoke City on a season-long loan from Chelsea..

AS Monaco defender Echiejile returns to the setup of the African champions for the first time since he missed the 2014 FIFA World Cup due to injury.

Obasi and Nosa Igiebor also make a return to the Super Eagles after missing out on the Mundial.

Lille OSC goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama is also included the 23-man team and will captain the Super Eagles in the absence of Joseph Yobo.

The list released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Tuesday also included defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Efe Ambrose, midfielders Ogenyi Onazi and John Obi Mikel and forwards Ahmed Musa and Emmanuel Emenike.

Onazi, the midfield powerhouse who suffered a terrible injury in the round of 16 defeat by France, is now fully recovered, but Michael Babatunde, who was stretchered off against Argentina after a hand injury, is left out.

Home-based quartet Chigozie Agbim, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kunle Odunlami and Gbolahan Salami, who were part of Nigeria’s third place finish at the African Nations Championship in Cape Town earlier in the year, also have an opportunity to return to Cape of Good Hope and shine. They are joined by Enugu Rangers marksman Osaguona Ighodaro as the lot from the domestic League.

Nigeria play Congo’s Red Devils – restored to the race after Rwanda were found guilty of using an ineligible player – in Calabar on September 6 before flying to Cape Town to take on Bafana Bafana on September 10.

The full list

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco FC, France); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Ramon Azeez (Almeria FC, Spain); Joel Obi (Inter Milan, Italy); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Omatsone Aluko (Hull City, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Chinedu Obasi (Schalke 04, Germany); Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen FC, Netherlands); Nnamdi Oduamadi (FC Crotone, Italy); Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves); Christian Osaguona (Enugu Rangers)



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s