Jonathan attends AU Peace and Security Council meeting in Nairobi

President Jonathan

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan leaves Abuja Monday to join about 14 other African leaders at the African Union Peace and Security Council meeting scheduled to take place Tuesday in Nairobi, Kenya. 

The Nairobi meeting, which is a follow-up to talks by the President and other African leaders at Pretoria, South Africa in May this year on joint action against terrorism is expected receive and consider the report of the Chairperson of the African Union Commission on Terrorism and Violent Extremism in Africa.

Besides, a statement by the Presidential Spokesman, Reuben Abati in Abuja said deliberations at the Nairobi Summit and the adoption of the African Chairperson’s Report by President Jonathan, President Uhuru Kenyatta and other participating Heads of State are expected lead to more collaborative actions by Nigeria and other African countries to rid the continent of acts of terrorism and violent extremism.

The Council, which is a crucial department of the regional body saddled with the responsibility of preventing, managing and resolving conflicts in Africa, has on its next agenda the ongoing Boko Haram violence in Nigeria, the insurgency in Mali as well as other terror- related activities going on in the continent.

The Council also has on its agenda the implementation of the operational conclusions of the 5th meeting of Heads of intelligence and security services of Sahel-Saharan countries, held on May 19 and 20 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

The Peace and Security Council (PSC) is the African Union’s (AU’s) standing decision-making body responsible for the maintenance of continental peace and security and it came into existence officially on the 26th of December, 2003.

It has 15 members, elected by the AU Executive Council on regional basis (three from Central Africa; three from East Africa; two from North Africa; three from Southern Africa; and four from West Africa).

Members are elected for three-year (five members) or two-year (ten members) terms and can be re-elected immediately for another term. There are no permanent members and no veto. PSC chairmanship rotates on a monthly basis, in alphabetical order of the English-language names of member states.

The President, who would be accompanied to the Nairobi Summit by the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Dr. Nurudeen Mohammed, the National Security Adviser, Col. Sambo Dasuki (rtd.) as well as other advisers and aides will return to Abuja at the conclusion of the meeting on Tuesday.




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s