Iheanacho, Simon make Nigeria U-20 World Cupsquad

Kelechi Iheanacho

Manchester City teenage midfielder Kelechi Iheanacho and KAA Gent attacking winger Moses Simon have been named in Nigeria’s team to the Fifa Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

Though the two players alongside Granada CF striker Success Isaac were not part of the final phase of the team’s preparation that is ongoing in Germany, the Nigerian Under-20 team head coach, Manu Garba, included them in the squad.

Isaac also made the 21-man roster but will now have to battle for a first-team place, especially the number nine position, with the impressive Taiwo Awoniyi.

Enyimba midfielder Kingsley Sokari, who had been excluded from the Super Eagles squad for the Chad game by Stephen Keshi, also made the final cut.

Christian Pyagbara, one of Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) top performers last term, could not displace any of the other Flying Eagles players and has been left out of the trip to New Zealand later in May.

As expected captain Musa Muhammed, Wilfred Ndidi, Chidiebere Nwakali, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Ifeanyi Mathew, Bernard Bulbwa, Chidera Ezeh, Musa Yahaya, Godwin Saviour and Akinjide Idowu were all named in the team.

The Nigerian under-20s begin their group campaign against Brazil on June 1 and face North Korea three days later before rounding off the first stage with Hungary on June 7.


The full list

Goalkeepers: Joshua Enaholo (MFM FC); Dele Alampasu (Football College Academy); Olorunleke Ojo (Giwa FC)

Defenders: Musa Muhammed (FC Heart Academy); Mustapha Abdullahi (Spotlight FC); Zaharaddeen Bello (Dabo Babes Academy); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Izu Omego (Apapa Golden Stars); Chidiebere Nwakali (Manchester City, England)

Midfielders: Akinjide Idowu (Nigeria Young Academy); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Water FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC); Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Musa Yahaya (Tottenham FC, England); Bernard Bulbwa (Esperance ST, Tunisia); Godwin Saviour (FC Sports)

Forwards: Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy); Chidera Ezeh (FC Porto, Portugal); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Success Isaac (Granada FC, Spain)



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s