Collette Nwadike: First Black Queen To Win Miss Universe

History was made on Wednesday, December 9, as Nigeria’s Collete Nwadike became first black queen to win Miss Universe.

Collete Nwadike

Collete Nwadike

The top 10 finalists were Ghana, USA, Brazil, Aruba, Angola, Ghana, Cape Verde, Germany, Sudan, Sao Tome & Principe and the winner of the crown, Nigeria.

Collete Nwadike, who was crowned winner, beat the first runner-up Miss Germany, second runner-up Miss Angola, third runner-up Miss Aruba, and fourth runner-up and the contestant from the host country Miss Sao Tome and Principe.

Collete, who succeeded Miss Dominican Republic, Susan Castano, put up a stellar performance to outshine the other contestants, bagging the award for the Best Evening Gown.

On winning, Collette said: “It’s like a dream come true. I have always dreamt of winning an international pageant and here I am, living my dream. I thank God for making this possible and I also thank my family for their support. Special thanks to my wonderful groomer/national director, Tomi Lydia Salami who left no stone unturned in preparing me for this journey. I also want to appreciate the officials of the Nigerian Embassy to Sao Tome & Principe and the Nigerian Community in Sao Tome. Much love to Rikaoto my fab designer & BiBiyonce MUA, extraordinaire and to my sponsors, friends & fans, I say a huge thank you.”

See more pictures below:

Collete and other contestants

Collete and other contestants