Ahead of the nominee announcement which comes up on August 22, 2016, members of the Jury for the All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA, arrived in Lagos, Nigeria on Tuesday, August 17,2016 and have commenced the adjudication exercise.

IMG 8701

The screening/nominee selection is scheduled to hold in Lagos State just as the city was last Monday August 15, declared the host city for AFRIMA 2016 by the African Union.

IMG 8706

The 13-person International Jury of AFRIMA, which represents the five regions of Africa, the Diaspora and AUC, are: Kawesa Richard (Eastern Africa-Uganda), Delani Makhalima (Southern Africa-Zimbabwe), Christian Syren (Southern Africa-Southern Africa), Rita Ray (Diaspora-UK), Kiki Toure(Central Africa – Equatorial Guinea), Rab Bakari (Diaspora -USA), Oscar Kidjo (Western Africa-Benin Republic), Laolu Akintobi (Western Africa-Nigeria), Tabu Osusa (Eastern Africa-Kenya), Robert E. Ekukole (Central Africa-Cameroon), Angela Martins (African Union Rep.) promises to uphold the AFRIMA’s value of FACE IT (Fairness, Authenticity, Creativity, Excellence, Integrity, Transparency).

The entry submission process that was opened to artistes, music professionals and other stakeholders living on the continent and in the Diaspora, commenced on Monday May 30 and closed on July 30, 2016.

Realizing a total score of over 2,714 entries from music practitioners across the continent for this year’s edition of the All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA. Hence, the call for the commencement of the proper documentation of the nominees to emerge for the consideration for AFRIMA 2016 awards.

The purpose for this 7-day screening exercise and nominee selection is to provide for well-deserving artistes and music professionals to emerge as winners ranging from the regional categories to the continental categories. This brings for a crucial responsibility of screening, categorizing, assessing and selecting nominees from the body of works submitted for award consideration. Following this, the adjudication process will be concluded by the final announcement of the nominees’ list in all 34 categories.

Following this, the adjudication process will be concluded by final announcement of the nominees’ list in all 34 categories. The 2016 edition of the award will take place on 4-6 November,2016.



Published by


Iheanyi Igboko is a social advocate, educator and journalist/blogger; working actively in the education and human development sector. He is passionate about promoting access to quality education, increasing youth active participation and engagement, and empowering young people to develop solutions to their problems. He craves unending hopes of a better Nigeria that will meet the hopes and aspirations of her citizens; and committed to building a nation that will seamlessly harness and develop her numerous human and capital potentials.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s